top of page
Search

Final Chapter - A time for self reflection.


Artist : Janne Kearney

This project is created for my major project module.

It is the final part of my Masters degree course in Graphic design & Illustration for the Liverpool John Moores University.


During my previous modules, I realized that I was failing to correctly showcase my research methodology.

That resulted in projects that, even though they were visually pleasing, were perceived as semantically disconnected and somewhat convoluted as a final outcome. That realization led to the decision to work on my artistic process and its documentation, in a way that is easily understood by anyone, for my final project.

At the same time, it was important for me to explore and research a topic that I have no knowledge on, so that I can start working fresh, without any previous biases or misconceptions.

My decision to work on the subject of tea and tisanes, was initially very generalized and had no clear direction but the main theme of this project was the philosophy of tea as meditation in motion.

I was looking for a way to practice meditation in a way that gravitated toward my lifestyle and I was aware of how preparing and enjoying tea encompasses a vast range of self-reflecting practices in Asian culture.

Over the course of the past few months, I felt like it was important to educate myself on the subject of tea, so I began researching through various focus points, such as history, botanology, mythology, philosophy and ethnography.

Through various topics my project was starting to take shape and gravitate toward mythology and philosophy, two intertwining subjects in my culture.


The project was mapped as having three areas of impact :

  • Research > General information on the subject, conversing with acquaintances about their relationship to tea.

  • Practice (empirical) > Buying and trying various tea blends, making tea infused paper, organizing and participating in a tea ceremony.

  • Design > Illustrating the mythological themes explored (Legends of the origin of tea) and creating a tea packaging line based on those illustrations.

For my practice, I had many ideas but was not sure how to proceed and establish a final outcome, so I decided to create experiences and observe how they manifest.

For example, I was very interested in making my own paper but had no idea how to utilize it. A few days later, the opportunity to organize a tea ceremony, allowed me to use my paper to make personalized invites for the guests. Eventually, all aspects of my process started fusing together and shaping the final outcome.

This method allowed me to experiment and learn new practices without any specific rules or guidelines, which was one of my major goals for this course.

In retrospect, this project would be even more evolved if I had allowed myself to begin my research and action mapping at an earlier stage of the module. The main challenge for this project was time, since it took longer than anticipated before I could decide on this particular topic, among other possible ideas.

Another challenge that I came across in the beginning of this project was how to showcase a final outcome, but through work, the direction of this project became clear after its inception.

The title of this project, "Infused", reflects its temperament, both in a metaphorical sense as well as literal, the main theme is infusion. Infusion of tea leaves, cultures, knowledge and people.


During this "submersion" into the world of tea and tisanes, I created a new opportunity for knowledge and practice for myself whilst engaging in thought provoking conversations with the people around me. I realized how everyone needs to dedicate a moment of their time, to ground themselves, practice mindfulness and gratitude, allowing for personal growth and decompression during our fast paced, demanding lives. The most important aspect of this project was allowing myself to be more open and creative with my artistic approach.

At the close of this course I feel elevated professionally and aesthetically as a designer and I feel energized and ready to invest in more projects like Infused.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page